Menu Close

Bangladesh Project Among Aga Khan Award for Architecture 2019

Saif Ul Haque, the architect of Arcadia Education Project in South Kanarchor, wins the award from Bangladesh

A project by Bangladesh has been declared as one of the winners of the 2019 Aga Khan Award for Architecture in Kazan, Russia.

Saif Ul Haque, the architect of Arcadia Education Project in South Kanarchor, won the award from Bangladesh on Thursday.  

The project occupies space for a preschool, a hostel, a nursery, and a vocational training center that takes a novel approach to a riverine site often flooded for five months every year.

The architect-designed the alternative of an amphibious structure that could sit on the floor or float on the water – depending on seasonal conditions– rather than disrupting the ecosystem to produce a construction mound.

However, other projects from countries like Bahrain, Palestine, Russia, Senegal, and UAE were also amongst the winners.

The prize money of $1 million will be shared among the winners.

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture’s mandate is distinct from many other architecture prizes as it not only rewards architects but also identifies municipalities, builders, clients, master craftsmen and engineers who have played important roles in the realization of a project.

The Award was created in 1977 by The Aga Khan to define and encourage ideas of construction that effectively address the requirements and ambitions of societies where Muslims have a significant presence.

This year, the award-giving ceremony will be held in Kazan, Russia in Kremlin which is a World Heritage Site itself.

The nine members of the 2019 master jury were: Anthony Kwamé Appiah, an Anglo-Ghanaian American philosopher, Meisa Batayneh, founder and principal architect of miasma architects & engineers, Sir David Chipperfield, whose practice has built over 100 projects for both the private and public sectors, Elizabeth Diller, a founding partner of a design studio whose practice spans the fields of architecture, multi-media performance and digital media, Edhem Eldem, a Professor of History at Boğaziçi University (Istanbul) and the Collège de France. Mona Fawaz, a Professor in Urban Studies and Planning at the Issam Fares Institute of Public Policy at the American University of Beirut, Kareem Ibrahim, an Egyptian architect and urban researcher who has worked extensively in Historic Cairo, Ali M. Malkawi, a professor at Harvard University’s Graduate School of Design and a founding director of the Harvard Center for Green Buildings and Cities, and Nandita Correa Mehrotra, an architect working in India and the United States, also the Director of the Charles Correa Foundation were amongst the jury.